Friday, 13 March 2015

If you like cheese with your romance then this is for you

Professional gambler Rhett Butler Blaylock was everything that Abbie Maven didn't want in a man - flamboyant, flashy, and unreserved. After a horrible experience in her youth, she spent her life trying to make all the right choices, pouring her energy into being the best possible single mother to her son. But though Rhett doesn't seem to be husband and step-father material, he awakens emotions in her that are as frightening as they are powerful.  They had a sling and she's never forgotten, and now he has followed her to Dare Valley, Colorado with the intention of winning back her heart ... this time, forever.

Rhett's determined to show Abbie that he can be the man of her dreams.  He'll do whatever it takes for the woman he loves, including giving up his flamboyant lifestyle and his bad-boy image.  As Christmas approaches, he prepares a special surprise for her, hoping the holiday will work its magic and grant him a miracle.  Will his holiday serenade heal Abbie's heart and convince her to give him a second chance? 

At the time of reading I had not realised that this was, in fact, the fourth book in a series.  Now the lack of detail and back story makes sense.  This reader read this out of sequence and although the 'blurb' states these novellas can be stand alones. this reader would suggest reading these books in order which would greatly enhance the reading experience.  I believe that not reading books 1-3 affected my perception and enjoyment of this book.

Don't get me wrong there were some good bits to this novel; the setting, the domesticity that the setting involved and the scene where she is making the ginger bread house.  The characters were OK but the story lacked real passion.  It also felt overdone with regards the grand gestures.  In short this novella felt rushed and lacking; overall this reader felt this novella was just too cheesy.

Full Disclosure: ARC received from Netgalley for an honest review.

I rated this 1 star on Netgalley and 'I didn't like it' on Good reads (1 star) and Amazon (2 stars)

No comments:

Post a Comment