Thursday, 10 September 2015

How many guilty pleasures do you have? One hundred or A million

For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes a tempting new novel of secrets, lies, and redeeming passion.

Two million dollars secured Noah Crawford the most enticing woman he has ever known.  Initiating Delaine Talbot into a sensuous world of pleasure took them both to the bring - again and again.  But when Noah discovers why the beautiful innocent sold her body to the highest bidder, he's faced with the hardest thing he ever had to so: Set her free.

Lanie can't believe Noah would let her go.  Doesn't he know they share a bond deeper than sex - a connection too powerful to sever?  Not even a treacherous enemy out to destroy Noah or the dark secret haunting the multimillionaire can keep them apart.  But first Lanie has to show him that he belongs to her, even if it means risking everything for a love that can never be bought or sold,

A Million Guilty Pleasures is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences.

This was my first experience of a novel by this author and to be honest it will definitely be my last.

The story was not strong and the use of language was juvenile to say the least with constant repetition of female derogative terms.  This novel was weird and not at all sexy.  The female character was annoying beyond words and it was a struggle to finish this book

Perhaps a factor to the reader’s lack of fulfilment in this novel is that she did not read the first novel in the series first.  Therefore where the story continued on from the first novel this reader came into the story part way through.

Don’t get me wrong I am not a prude but I did fine the use of language very derogative towards the female character.  Surely in this day and age we should be viewing the sexes in a similar light. If the male is a weak character portray him as such, likewise a female character, but please be sparing in your use of language.  There is no need for base derogating language for either character.  It shows lack of imagination on the part of the author.  As readers we should be demanding more from our authors (if that is what you want to call them)!

This reader felt that this book and author got close, but unfortunately they were not given the proverbial cigar.

Full Disclosure: I received a free copy from Netgalley for an honest review.

I rated this 2 stars on Netgalley and 'it was OK' on Amazon (3 stars) and Goodreads (2 stars)

No comments:

Post a Comment